Book Review: Pete Wilson’s “Plan B: What to Do When God doesn’t Show Up the Way you Thought He Would”

I should begin by saying Plan B wasn’t exactly what I thought it’d be. Honestly, even though I’d followed Pete on twitter for quite awhile and know many who go to his church, I fully expected to find a book about the unexpected difficulties of life from a pastor, even one with cool hair,  to include a good bit of platitudes and well meaning words and a tendency to blink and ignore the pain that often still remains even in the midst of knowing “God is in control”, “God is good” and “Jesus loves you”.  Shame on me for pre-judging because this book really spoke truth to me and encouraged me without talking down to me.

By just reading the title of my blog, you will know that I am not a stranger to the ideas of unfulfilled expectations.  I selfishly hoped this book would be “for me” and from the first page it felt like it was written straight to my situation. I suspect you will too.

I know that everyone reading this review has faced some kind of deep disappointment whether it’s the loss of someone you loved deeply, the loss of a job, the loss of a marriage or another dream.  The book deals unflinchingly with those disappointments and even tragedies by telling both real life messy stories from his experience and messy stories of people highlighted in the Bible.  It also un-apologetically brings those situations along side the truth found in God’s word. There’s no happy little wrap up to make it all nice and neat beyond than the thread of understanding that just because it is your Plan B doesn’t mean that it’s God’s and He will walk with you and work through even this for you good and His glory.

Pete’s writing style is very much like a casual conversation with a close friend.  I couldn’t get through a chapter without thinking of someone who would benefit from reading this book.   It would be a great tool for a group to read through together and the questions in the back would provide the outline for some compellingly honest conversations.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Pete Wilson’s “Plan B: What to Do When God doesn’t Show Up the Way you Thought He Would”

  1. Pete Wilson says:

    Wow! Thanks so much for sharing the review Anne! So glad you enjoyed the book.

Leave a Reply

