On Being an Old New Homeowner

So, I’m late to the homeowner game.  Most people my age are on their 3rd or 4th house I imagine but that just hasn’t been my journey.  There are many reasons I avoided buying a house and I won’t go into them here but they all come down to timing and fear.  Sitting a month into this journey, I can see clearly that I was right to trust my instincts.  This choice and at any other time in my past would’ve been a disaster!  You’ll just have to trust me on that.

A month in and I still have boxes.  To my super organized friends who are trying hard not to judge me, I can onlyapologize but I doubt anyone is surprised.  A month in and not a single room is done.  While that should be completely frustrating and exhausting, I am so excited I can’t stand it!

There’s a plan, don’t worry or at least the beginnings of one.  But I’m as excited about the process of getting there as I am to see the final results!  Now I just have to figure out how to pace myself and stay focused so I don’t plunge feet first into mountains of debt so I have it all NOW!

I’ve got lists of things to buy and projects to do: bigger, smaller, sooner, later but the basics of the plan begins with me  finishing unpacking and making the house functional with what I have now even with some empty or unpainted rooms or furniture serving an improvised purpose for the time being.  But once everything has found a home, even temporary the fun stuff will begin!  Then I will just move one room at a time starting with my bedroom and then LR/DR.

So, finally, here are the before pics of the new house interior.

The Living Room/Dining Room seen from just inside the front door.

View of Living Room side.  I should mention this is no longer blue but instead LOFT Gray.

Kitchen:   I have lots of ideas but this room will probably get tackled last since it’s fine for now.  New appliances.  Pretty new countertop.  Newish tile floor.  (first up for this room . . . light fixture over the sink has got to go!)

The enclosed garage will be a home office with my trundle daybed for guests.

And this is… you guess it.  I like the light aqua paint with the white & black tile for now.  I have some idea though  …

Bedroom #2 is above and will be the guest room. Yes, lighting is on the list of things to buy for this room!

This is the #3 bedroom but I’m going to use it as a TV room/den.  Obviously, there is much to do here so it’s higher up on the list!  I’ll probably tackle it after the LR/DR.   I’ll definitely be hiring someone to paint all the trim the glossy white trim to match the rest of the house and the walls will be most likely a fresh cream color.  That ought to give a nice blank canvas to start from.

Lastly, here is my bedroom . . .

It’s a small room but it is a 1950s house.  I love the  2 old windows.  My dresser doesn’t fit in here so I think it will find a home serving storage needs in the LR.  I’ll be buying  a new or new to me dresser.  I’ve already painted the walls Ralph Lauren’s Vermeer which is actually darker than my monitor shows.

I’ve started lots of clip files of decorating ideas including this digital one on houzz.com. It’ll give you an idea of where I’m headed, at least for the moment.  As you can see there is a lot of work to get from here to there!  And that doesn’t even start to cover the outside of the house!

Let the games begin.   I’ll post ‘after’ and ‘in process’ shots as things progress but I keep reminding myself it doesn’t have to be all done this time next year.  Does it?  If you have brilliant ideas I must see, send them my way!

What home improvement or design projects are on your 2019 To Do list?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On Being an Old New Homeowner

  1. Dana Tucker says:

    Congrats on the new house. Is it in Franklin? Love the photo of your inspiration room. You should be able to get close to that look by shopping at Z Gallery and Home Goods. Love those stores. Can’t wait to see the transformation. I am a home decor junkie. Have fun!

    • amabry says:

      I haven’t been to Home Goods. i will definitely look there. The house is in Inglewood in East Nashville actually. thanks for taking a look at the blog! I checked out yours as well. Man, you guys do amazing work! Beautiful stuff really.

  2. Amber says:

    Your bathroom looks EXACTLY like my grandmothers. cept hers was pink tile with black trim. lol its an adorable house hun. very warm and homey and so much charm. you did good!

Leave a Reply

