I was born in September

As you know, I’m planning for my birthday.  Not for a birthday party or celebration but just thinking about what do I want to see happen in my 41st year.  Thanks to some of your suggestions, I’m finishing that list of 101 things I want to do in the next 1001 days.  I’m still open for suggestions before I finalize it.  You  know, really I guess it doesn’t matter what’s on the list.  It could be any number of wonderful things but the bottomline is, I want my life to matter.  And for that to happen, I need my hours, days, weeks and months to matter.  I’m thinking about what is the best use of this time, these resources, this life that I’ve been blessed with.

So in line with that kind of thinking . . . . For my birthday this year, I’d like to ask you to celebrate with me by helping me build a water well in Ethiopia with charity: water!  200 people donating $20 bucks would do it.  Every day, I’m realizing how much we have in America that we take for granted.  We are so rich and most of the time we live like we’re poor – like the things we don’t have are more significant than the things we do.   I want to be someone who lives life seeing the abundance not the scarcity. 

I think that starts by getting some perspective.  Realizing that 1.1 Billion people on this planet today don’t have clean water to drink gives me some perspective.   It makes me think . . . there are a lot of problems in the world that are gonna be hard to fix BUT THIS is a problem that should be solvable and I want to be a part of that solution.   If you go here  you can find out more about charity: water and what they are doing.    You can make the donation right there. 

I should also mention that one well will impact more than 200 people and significantly impact the quality of their life.  Not just one day.  So really your $20 could change someone’s life.  That’s a little hard to get your head around isn’t it? 

I know a lot of you are already committed to many other amazing ministries and charities, and that’s great.  Keep pouring yourself out there in those areas.  You’re making your life matter.

But if you’re thinking that in this moment, I have more than I need and wondering if there is someone out there who could benefit from your extra . . . here’s a chance to do something with real impact. 

Think about it . . .

This entry was posted in be the change and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

